Home

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

How long have you been a student at ANAM?
This is my third year

What have you chosen to perform for your recital?
I playing the Debussy Sonata, a Rachmaninov Sonata and a short piece by Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho called Spins and Spells, which is a solo piece using a lot of extended techniques. It’s a scordatura, which means your strings a tuned differently to the usual fifths.  The different tuning allows for a different harmonic sound world.

How long have you been preparing?
Not long enough! I performed the Debussy for the Mothers’ Day concert and I started preparing the others in the past few weeks.

What are you most looking forward to in your recital?
Playing for my parents.

What’s the hardest thing about presenting a solo recital?
How to make the cello sound interesting for a whole hour!

What’s your post concert ritual?
The pub and then I would plan to stay at the pub for longer, but I usually just go home and sleep because I am so exhausted.

Finally, Favourite ice-cream?
I don’t really ice-cream.  But my favourite would be coconut chocolate.

 

Anna Pokorny
Monday 18 June, 2pm

Debussy Cello Sonata
Saariaho Spins and Spells (solo)
Rachmaninoff Cello Sonata

$5 entry, ANAMates Free

Leave a Reply

