Home

ANAM Violist Beth Condon is quite the accomplished, multi-faceted individual. She tells us a bit about herself and how she is settling into LifeatANAM.


How would you describe your experience at ANAM so far?

Yesterday, I was shocked to discover it’s already June. Time has been absolutely flying by! It’s been super busy and I feel like I’ve already been involved in lots of things since the start of the year which is great. There’s a real mix of personalities and it’s been great to get to know everyone.

Is there anything about your time here that has been unexpected?

Somewhat. I suppose I didn’t expect to click into a routine this early in the year. The first couple of months were a bit random settling in… but now that I’ve found my groove it’s awesome.

What are you looking forward to most in the upcoming 2016 Program?

Working with Simone Young is always incredible. So very much looking forward to doing that later in the year.

IMG_4349.jpg

Beth performing with Paavali Jumppanen and the ANAM Orchestra last month at Melbourne Recital Centre.

 

What do you do in your spare time outside of music?

Lately I’ve taken to fondly tending to my small ‘garden’ which consists of a few pots on the balcony of my apartment. I also like going dancing with my best friend Hank.

Where is your go to place for coffee?

7/11 does an absolute ripper skim latte and for a small fee of $1. I believe Caroline Henbest recommended I try the coffee there and so far; I have been only impressed by the quality of the product and the craftsmanship of the staff members.

Is there anything we don’t know about you that may be surprising?

I’m bilingual… I really like blue cheese! I lived in France and Finland for a while on exchanges during uni and high school. I’m left handed. Lastly I barrack for Collingwood!

How have you found your preparations for your first recital here at ANAM?

Preparations have been going well. I’ve worked hard on the repertoire and performed it all in class so it’s in a relatively good place at the moment.

What are your plans post ANAM?

I wish I knew! I’m contemplating going overseas for a while, to study or travel. At some point I suppose I should make money and tick boxes that need to be ticked. Happy to plan to an extent but also not ruling big things out.

If you weren’t a musician, what would you be?

I like to think I’d make a good comedian but I think I’m the only person I find funny so I should rule that out. I was thinking of becoming the next Matt Preston on Masterchef, I think his outfits would look good on me.

Any audition tips for applicants for next year’s Professional Performance Program?

Sounds corny – but have fun and be yourself! Of course do the preparation you need to nail the audition but enjoy yourself along the way. The process is more important than the outcome.

Have you got any projects coming up outside of ANAM?

Looking forward to going on tour with the AYO in July! Will be good to escape winter for a while and perform in some incredible parts of the world.


You can see Beth perform in:

ANAM Recital: Beth Condon (VIC) viola 
Thursday 9 June 11am
South Melbourne Town Hall

Tickets $5 at the door – free for ANAMates

Schubert, Schumann & Mendelssohn
Saturday 2 July 7pm
South Melbourne Town Hall

Tickets $60/$45/$35
(includes glass of complimentary champagne on arrival)

 

 

Leave a Reply

